Maryland Military Installation Council

The Maryland Military Installation Council identifies the public infrastructure, potential impact on local communities, and support needed for State military installation development and expansion. The Council reviews State policies to support military installations and maximize economic benefits to local communities​.


Dominick Murray chairs the Maryland Military Installation Council. He was confirmed as DBED Secretary in February 2013 and oversees Maryland's nearly 250-employee business agency. Secretary Murray has a strong background in economic development, performance-based instruction, and commercial and technical sales. Previously at DBED, Dominick served as Deputy Secretary, led the regional development team and was the primary liaison to local economic development and businesses.


  • BGen Dean R. Ertwine
  • William B. Morgan, Ph.D
  • Lt. Col. Alfred H. M. Shehab (ret.)
  • Col. Deborah S. Thomas, USAF (ret.); DST Technologies
  • John C. Astle; Senator, MD State Senate, District 30
  • Beverly Byron; Former U.S. House of Representatives; MD, 6th District
  • George W. Owings, III; Senator, MD State Senate
  • Michael Colina; President, Resource Management Concepts
  • Alan Imhoff; Retired Adjunct Faculty Frederick Community College
  • David R. Rudolph; Delegate, MD House of Delegates
  • Maj. Gen. James A. Adkins, Adjutant General
  • Dominick E. Murray, Secretary of Business & Economic Development
  • Robert M. Summers, Ph.D., Secretary of the Environment
  • Richard E. Hall, Secretary of Planning; James T. Smith, Jr., Secretary of Transportation
  • Edward Chow, Jr., Secretary of Veterans Affairs
  • Glen Ives, President, Southern Maryland Navy Alliance
  • Jill McClune, President, Army Alliance
  • Dennis P. Chappell, President, Indian Head Defense Alliance
  • Richard E. Metrey, President, Maritime Technology Alliance
  • Thomas Gladstone, President, Fort Detrick Alliance
  • M. H. (Jim) Estepp, President, Andrews Business & Community Alliance
  • Deon Viergutz, President, Fort Meade Alliance

Staff: Executive Director - Brig. Gen. J. Michael Hayes (ret.); Managing Director, Office of Military Affairs


Lisa Swoboda, ​​Deputy Director, Office of Military Affairs
Maryland Department of Business & Economic Development
401 E. Pratt St., 15th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202


There are no scheduled meetings at this time.