Maryland, South Korea partner on economic development agreement

09/14/2022| Amanda Winters

Maryland, South Korea partner on economic development agreement

09/14/2022 | Amanda Winters

At the start of Governor Larry Hogan’s last overseas trade mission , the state of Maryland and the Republic or Korea have signed a memorandum of understanding to strengthen collaboration between the two regions.

Governor Hogan and Governor Oh Young-hun of Jeju Province announced at a special ceremony today that the agreement of friendship and cooperation  will focus on commerce, economic development, carbon neutrality, agriculture, education, culture, tourism, and the arts. The Jeju Province is the only self-governing province in the Republic of Korea.

The state has previously entered several agreements with the Republic of Korea, including a signing with the Korea SMEs and Startups Agency (KOSME)  in 2021, and in 2015 with Gyeonggi Province , the most populous province in South Korea and the country's major economic center.

Read the full announcement 

Keep up with the latest.

Sign up for e-mail notifications.