Reisterstown and Williamsport named Main Street communities

10/06/2020| Andy DeVilbiss

Reisterstown and Williamsport named Main Street communities

10/06/2020 | Andy DeVilbiss

Guest feature: Andy DeVilbiss is with the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development. Follow along with DHCD on Facebook and Twitter.

Two new communities have received Main Street Maryland designations: Reisterstown in Baltimore County and the Town of Williamsport in Washington County. Following the designation of Aberdeen in Harford County earlier this year, Main Street Maryland has now designated 33 communities statewide, supporting locally-owned businesses, events, and activities that provide residents and visitors with an authentic Maryland experience.

“Main streets are the heart of our communities, and these designations are the result of a strategic focus on local revitalization,” said Governor Hogan. “These communities have made great efforts to support small businesses and improve their neighborhood economy while celebrating their cultural character and history.”

Created in 1998 and managed by the Maryland Department of Housing and Community Development, the Main Street Maryland program builds partnerships with local governments, nonprofits, and businesses to strengthen the economic development potential in Maryland’s historic downtown districts and neighborhoods.

Read more

Keep up with the latest.

Sign up for e-mail notifications.